act to extend the municipal boundaries of the borough of Belfast ... 1853.
Read Online

act to extend the municipal boundaries of the borough of Belfast ... 1853.

  • 249 Want to read
  • ·
  • 34 Currently reading

Published in Belfast .
Written in English

Book details:

The Physical Object
Pagination12 p. ;
Number of Pages12
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL21527021M

Download act to extend the municipal boundaries of the borough of Belfast ... 1853.


The Local Government (Ireland) Act abolished the corporate counties of the city of Kilkenny and the towns of Galway and Drogheda (and Carrickfergus in Ulster).The Act redesignated the other corporate counties as county Partition, four of these were in the Irish Free State, which later became the Republic of was made a fifth county borough in The Local Government Act extended the boundaries of some towns for electoral purposes only. That is, people living outside the municipal area were entitled to vote for the town council even though their residence was outside its jurisdiction. In a few cases, the municipal boundary of the town was subsequently extended to remove this anomaly. Belfast Borough Directory for From Thom's Irish Almanac and Official Directory for the Year Belfast, a maritime town and parliamentary borough, the Capital of Ulster, the chief manufacturing and commercial town of Ireland, and, since , the county town of Antrim, chiefly in Antrim county, miles north of Dublin, lat. 54° 36' " N., long. 5° 55' " W., comprising an. The first Belfast Municipal Act was passed in Then bour daries were established in , which comprised acres, and to this acres have been added on Nov. 25th last.

In King James I granted Belfast a Royal Charter making it a corporate borough. Belfast was made a City in by a Royal Charter granted by Queen Victoria. With the of the Local Government (Ireland) Act, , Belfast became a County Borough on 1 April Between and the first citizen of Belfast was known as a Sovereign. In. The Reform Act extended the boundaries to include part of Framwellgate parish which had previously been excluded. Under the Redistribution of Seats Act , the borough's representation was reduced from the general election to a single MP. In the boundary changes of , the borough was abolished, but a division of County Durham was. The noble patriotic Jemmy Hope dies and is inter3ed at Mallusk Cemetery, Mary Ann McCracken and Old Israel Milliken, a former United Irishman, now riddled with rheumatism, pay for the erection a a Headstone on Jemmy's grave. Municipal Boundary extended, Presbyterian College opened. Private Robert O’Neill (18) becomes the first. Stockport County Borough was created by the Municipal Corporations Act when the existing Borough of Stockport was reformed as a municipal the town was governed by a charter dating from circa granted by Ranulph de Blondeville, 4th Earl of Chester. The municipal borough consisted of parts of Cheshire, namely the township of Stockport and the neighbouring .

Municipal boundaries have been subject to many changes over the years, and there have been numerous reorganisations and reconstitutions of municipalities e.g. from borough to town to city. Detailed information about individual municipalities, their constitution and boundaries is available in the Victorian Municipal Directories. An Act to restore functions to the Council of the County Borough of Belfast, and for purposes connected therewith. There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Belfast County Borough Administration Act (Northern Ireland) Changes to Legislation. AN ACT TO CONFIRM THE COUNTY OF LOUTH AND BOROUGH OF DROGHEDA (BOUNDARIES) PROVISIONAL ORDER, [20th December, ]. WHEREAS the County of Louth and Borough of Drogheda (Boundaries) Provisional Order, , set out in the Schedule to this Act has been duly made by the Minister for Local Government under the Schedule to the Local Government (Application of . The electoral wards of Belfast are subdivisions of the city, used primarily for statistics and elections. Belfast has had 51 wards since May , which were revised in May and again in May Wards are the smallest administrative unit in Northern Ireland and are set by the Local Government Boundaries Commissioner and reviewed every 8–10 years.